Democrats Defeat Republicans In Two Cities

DeSoto County,MS

By: Charlie Hoots

For the first time in years a Democrat has won a victory in Republican strong-hold DeSoto County.

In Horn Lake, LaShonda Johnson, a Democrat, defeated Republican Brian Payne for the Ward 5 Alderman post (62-38) votes.
This post was left open as incumbent Bryan Pettigrew did not run for re-election. There are over 2,000 registered voters in that ward.

Johnson is being heralded as the first African-American woman to be elected to a municipal seat in DeSoto County since Reconstruction.

New Horn Lake Alderman LaShonda Johnson and Long Time Democratic Supporter Kelly Jacobs celebrating victory…

Democrats won two additional Alderman slots in Walls with the election of Leslie McLemore and Calvin Farmer.

Local Democratic Party leaders celebrated their victory stressing that this is just the beginning stating “we have our foot in the door”. Their stated goal is to have a democratic mayor, school board member or superintendent at some point in the near future.
Democrats had a record number of candidates with 15 running for offices this year. That, plus lack of voter turnout, gave them the wins.

Republican leaders are hopeful this will be a wake-up call for Republican voters. They would like to see voters be more pro-active supporting their candidates and most of all, go to the polls in the future.

Here are the Results for the contested races in the city elections in DeSoto County

Ward 2 Alderman Andrew Miller, running as an Independent, defeated Democratic nominee Elsie Sandidge.

Horn Lake:
Democrat LaShonda Johnson won in Ward 5. Republican incumbents Donnie White (at-large), Tim Smith (Ward 3) and Charlie Roberts (Ward 4) won re-election for their wards.

Olive Branch:
Incumbents won all five contested alderman races: George Collins (at-large), Gil Earhart (Ward 1), Pat Hamilton (Ward 2), Joy L. Henderson (Ward 3) and David Wallace (Ward 4). All of the winners are Republicans.

Republican incumbents won in three contested alderman races: Ronnie Hale (Ward 2), Joel Gallagher (Ward 4), and Raymond Flores (Ward 6).

Winners for the five at-large Board of Aldermen seats were Leslie Burl McLemore and Calvin Farmer (both Democrats); incumbents Beverly Work and Jimmy Doyle (both Independents) and Jennifer Henson (who also ran as an Independent).