Mayor Scott Phillips of Olive Branch Draws No Opposition

OLIVE BRANCH, MS by Sam Rikard   The filing deadline to run for Mayor and Alderman in cities across Mississippi was at 5 pm today. In Olive Branch, Mayor Scott Phillips was the only one to file for the top spot and will serve a second term beginning in July of this year.  He will run unopposed in the June 6th General Election.

Several Alderman races drew both Republicans and Democrats filing, while two incumbent Aldermen, Dale Dickerson of Ward 6 and Mark Aldridge of Ward 5 drew no opposition. Olive Branch’s longest serving public official, Alderman at Large George Collins faces both Republican and Democratic opposition as he seeks an eighth term. The respective party Executive Committees will have to meet and certify the candidates that have filed to run for each position. Registered voters will go to the polls on May 2 to vote in the Republican and Democratic primaries. Run-off elections will be held, if needed on May 16. The winners of the party primaries will face off in the General Election which will be held on June 6. The following have filed to run for Mayor and Aldermen in Olive Branch:

Mayor: Scott Phillips (R) unopposed

Ward 1: Gil Earhart (R)  Demetrius Holt (D)  Calvin James Sr. (I)

Ward 2: Pat Hamilton (R)  Stacy Jones Sr. (D)

Ward 3: Joy Henderson (R)  Patricia Ann Brady (D)

Ward 4: David Wallace (R)    Tanner Kuntz (R)  Shawn Braddock (R)  Otis  Simmons (D)

Ward 5: Mark Aldridge (R) unopposed

Ward 6: Dale Dickerson (R) unopposed

Alderman at Large: George Collins (R)  Stephen Sutton (R) Martha Saulsberry (D)